callistotoni: (sillyme)
[personal profile] callistotoni
Significant progress was made on the pink tourney venetian. I'm telling you, it's the handwork that'll kill you.

Spent much of Saturday and Sunday at g0atface's and got the bodice edges bound and most of the inside lacing loops done. Watched the current Dr. Who. G0atface is right, the current Dr Who (David Tennent) is very hot. :-)

Monday I took off from work. After the barn I met up with mastreteresa and Bubbles. Finished the lacing loops and got the thin gold cord sew around the center front and neck edge (to hide the bias binding; next time I'll use facings. :-/ ).

Today Brandee didn't clear her stall because I stayed home and sewed all day. Got the skirt pleated and attached; bound raw edges. This took most of the day, believe it or not (all hand work). Cut out sleeves and lining. Got sleeves and lining seams sewn. Tomorrow I'll try to get the pieces pressed and put the sleeves together with the lining.

To finish this thing I need to get the hem marked and sewn, finish the sleeves and sew in loops and buttons to attach the sleeves to the dress. And I need to make a "bathhouse babe" linen shift to wear under the corset (the camica is worn over the corset in this case).

Lesson learned: In the past I've used 6 yds as the minimum yardage to make a 'petticote', to use the Moda terminology. But that only allows for basic 2-piece straight sleeves. I had 6 yds of this pink brocade and once again I've got "tippets for mice"-sized scraps. No way could I come close to matching the brocade pattern on the sleeves. From now on I'm going to get at least 7 yds in order to do more interesting (even more period) sleeves).

I really want to have this thing done for A&S, to wear at the tavern/inn. And since this dress was inspired by the camica I started at aastg's last August, it would be good to be able to get this thing done before a whole year has passed.

Date: 2006-07-06 01:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aastg.livejournal.com
"I'm telling you, it's the handwork that'll kill you."

Actually, it'll kill [livejournal.com profile] moira_ramsay. For me, it's a reason to sew at all.

Can't wait to see that dress!!!!!!! I know you'll look swell in it.

it's the handwork that'll kill you

Date: 2006-07-07 02:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dame-cordelia.livejournal.com
So true. There are so many times that machine sewing just won't do the job right, and then you spend HOURS AND HOURS doing all those nice little stitches that nobody else knows about. But YOU know.

When you are done though, the result is worth it.

Profile

callistotoni: (Default)
callistotoni

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:11 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios