callistotoni: (sillyme)
[personal profile] callistotoni
Same ol', same ol', but what the hell, it's my LJ.

Sewing: My free time at home for the last month or so has been spent on my pavillion painting project, so no sewing had been happening. Add to that that I'd lost some amount of faith in my pink tourney venetian. But sewing got kick-started this Saturday when g0atface and Cathie B/Sophie came over to my house. Not only was a good time had by all, but I picked up where I left off and made significant project on the bodice. By running a thin plastic bone up and over the shoulder straps (g0atface's idea) I was able to cut the neckline out farther and still keep the thing from falling off my shoulders. (Personal fitting TMI: I have a broad back but am very sloped from my neck to the shoulder points--no real flat space. I have a heck of a time keeping shoulder-strap purses from falling on my arm all the time, for example.)
Now I'm pretty happy with how it will turn out. Note to me for next time: facings, not bindings, especially down the open center front. I'm a big fan of binding edges because I hate seam bulk, but I don't like how the binding looks with this brocade. I'll visually fix it by running a very thing gold cord over the binding seam -- breaks up the visual so you don't see the binding.
One metal block I've had about this dress is the sleeves. I've waffled back and forth about having very simple straight tie-on sleeves and having paned puffy-topped ones (you who are familiar with the style know what I'm talking about). Puffy-topped would have more of a wow-factor, but would take more time. Straight sleeves would make this dress happen a lot faster, and would be easier to wear under overgowns (like my green wool coat/ropa-thingee). Now it looks like I don't have that much extra fabric to cut sleeves with, so I've decided to keep it simple. Done is beautiful, done is beautiful...
I also decided that the dress will look a lot better with some bling. So I ordered a girdle belt from saphireandsage.com, the place where Johanna and g0atface got thier 12th night bling from. Also ordered a matching hair band. Topaz-colored stones, fyi, I thought would go best with the Pink.

In other sewing news, g0atface finished my red linen cotehardie for me. I just need to finish the button and side lacing holes, which I'm doing by machine (I have *no* time to do this by hand, really). June Crown I will be linen cotehardie-girl! Hmm, I wonder if people *still* won't recognize me?

More spending: I been to a couple of events now since the theft, and I really need to replace my SCA shoes. I've been wearing black Muruno flat loafers, but they clearly were not meant to be worn outdoors a lot. Vyncent made me some beautiful 16th C slippers -- in red and gold, even!--but I can't get them on because my arches are so high. So yesterday I found a place online, Boots by Bohemond, and they had in-stock Mary Rose shoes in my size for $65. So I ordered a pair. I hope the vendor is reputable, but he shares space with Raymonds Quiet Press, so that gave me confidence. And they are not custom, so I hope that helps as well. I'd like to get them by June Crown. We will see.

Shopping online I found these:

http://pewterreplicas.com/detail.asp?id=279&selcurrencies=USD

and

http://pewterreplicas.com/detail.asp?id=154&selcurrencies=USD

I *want* these. I will be good, though, and not spend the money (well, not right *now*, but someday I will. :-) ) Must think of England! And Brandee gets shod next week, and...

Riding: What can I say that I haven't said before. My riding is getting better, but progress is *slow*. At this point I can't claim it's because I'm a beginner, 'cause I've been riding and taking lessons for several years now. I just don't seem to have any innate talent at this sport. I don't completely suck these days, but it's a constant struggle to get my body to do what it needs to do and not what it wants to do. I can't figure out how to not be so negative about my abilites that I sabatoge my learning, and how to be realistic and be able to laugh at myself. Some sort of Life Lesson, I'm sure.

And I've noticed Brandee improving over this last week since it's just been me and my trainer riding her. Brandee seems to be bouncing back nicely from being ridden improperly by the other person (see previous post). Last night's ride I worked hard and lasted a whole hour. Yay me! Tomorrow I have my lesson; think positive thoughts.

Tarnmist Sewing Workshop: Friday I'm driving down to Morro Bay for the long-planned sewing workshop. I hope people have drafted their 1st-try slopers, 'cause I just want to help them get them fitted. I doubt it, though. I thought I'd bring all my costume books and some of my costumes and let folks preuse them. I know I learn a lot when I get to see stuff up close. I hope people get something out of this; I want to help people, I really do, and the Tarnmist folks are cool people. :-)
I'm coming back Sunday afternoon, after going to see Ellen and Kristin's herd and doing a bit of EQ area clean-up with the group.
I do hope I can talk Ellen into picking me up at my hotel. I am *so* directionally challenged I finding super stressful to have to find non-obvious places (like people's homes) in unfamiliar places. And this will be the farthest and longest I've ever driven by myself, so my gut-feel is that I'm not going to want to drive much while I'm down there.
I also hope that my little CD/Mpeg player that I just bought behaves. I have one MPeg CD of Siobhan the Fiddler's group that Johanna and Martin gave me, but it keeps cutting out. Blah. That will be a long way to drive without music or conversation.
Can you tell I'm stressing about this trip? I'm sure it will all be OK and will be fun. Like all SCA events, I just need to get there and then things usually turn out fine. :-)

Date: 2006-06-15 01:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] falzalot.livejournal.com
What do you have in your car, a tape deck? I've got stuff you can borrow!!

And yay sewing!

Date: 2006-06-15 01:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] callistotoni.livejournal.com
I do have a tape deck in the car, actually. If you have some tapes that would be great!

Date: 2006-06-15 01:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] falzalot.livejournal.com
I've got TONS. Where and how can I get it to you?

Riding and Muscle Memory

Date: 2006-06-15 02:08 am (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
It might interest you to know that muscle memory (your muscles automatically doing what you want) takes 18 to 24 months to develop. I know this from physical therapy. You don't make slow steady progress with muscle memory; instead you get spurts of progress every 18 to 24 months.

Re: Riding and Muscle Memory

Date: 2006-06-15 05:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] callistotoni.livejournal.com
24 Months? As in 2 Years? Jeeze Louise!
Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming...

Date: 2006-06-15 03:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ornerie.livejournal.com
I have the sun/rose collar from that site (gold plated :)) and its LOVELY.

and now he's added a bumch of new stuff, dang it.

eeep!

:)

Profile

callistotoni: (Default)
callistotoni

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:11 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios